The business of english – tiếng anh thực tế ep2

business.jpg picture by luunguyenphu2007

Video

Audio

http://sannhac.com/mini_player/1.swf?info=The%20business%20of%20English%202%20-%20luunguyenphu2007&messenger=SanNhac.com&link=http://streaming.sannhac.com/mp3_file/1140000/1138249/m2013_1276782947.mp3&id=165901

Script

VICTOR: Well, it’s been good to meet you Sam, and very interesting to hear about your business.

SAM: Look, we are having a small dinner for some of our clients and friends after this. Why don’t you join us?

VICTOR: That’s very kind of you. I’ll just check with my associate whether they have other arrangements for us.

SAM: Your associate is most welcome to join us too.

VICTOR: Thankyou – excuse me.

WALTER: This is Sam Eriks from Eriks imports. He has very kindly invited us to a dinner.

SAM: Yes, would you like to join us?

WALTER: Unfortunately I have another engagement, but thankyou for the invitation.

SAM: Well, perhaps you could join us after that for a drink?

WALTER: Sounds great. I’d be happy to. Where shall we meet?

SAM: How about the lounge bar here. At about ten?

WALTER: I’ll see you then. Excuse me…

SAM: Lin. Victor’s joining us for dinner.

LIN: Oh wonderful.

VICTOR: I hope you don’t mind.

LIN: Of course not, you’re most welcome.

SAM: Well, shall we make a move?

LIN: Would you mind if I just say goodbye to a few people?

SAM: No problem – we’ll see you outside in a few minutes.

LIN: Okay.

In this episode you can learn how to make, accept and refuse invitations in a business setting.

VICTOR: Well, it’s been good to meet you Sam, and very interesting to hear about your business.

SAM: Look, we are having a small dinner for some of our clients and friends after this. Why don’t you join us?

VICTOR: That’s very kind of you. I’ll just check with my associate whether they have other arrangements for us.

SAM: Your associate is most welcome to join us too.

VICTOR: Thankyou – excuse me.

WALTER: This is Sam Eriks from Eriks imports. He has very kindly invited us to a dinner.

SAM: Yes, would you like to join us?

WALTER: Unfortunately I have another engagement, but thankyou for the invitation.

SAM: Well, perhaps you could join us after that for a drink?

WALTER: Sounds great. I’d be happy to. Where shall we meet?

SAM: How about the lounge bar here. At about ten?

WALTER: I’ll see you then. Excuse me…

SAM: Lin. Victor’s joining us for dinner.

LIN: Oh wonderful.

VICTOR: I hope you don’t mind.

LIN: Of course not, you’re most welcome.

SAM: Well, shall we make a move?

LIN: Would you mind if I just say goodbye to a few people?

SAM: No problem – we’ll see you outside in a few minutes.

LIN: Okay.

B.W

michaelhoan

***********************************************************

 

Vocabulary

associate with (~)
1. kết giao, quan hệ
be in the company of
you associate something with something else especially if something makes you think of something else: I associate certain places with my childhood]
You can tell he’s a snob since he doesn’t associate with people who aren’t rich.
associate (v)
1. (đt) kết giao, kết hợp, liên hợp, liên kết, cho gia nhập, cho cộng tác
engagement (n)
2. (dt) cuộc hẹn
an appointment with someone
I can’t come because I have a previous engagement.
lounge (n)
1. (dt) buồng đợi, phòng khách, phòng ngồi chơi
(Brit) a living room of a private home; a public room or hall where someone can relax
The departure lounge in an airport. 

Gửi phản hồi

